Sexual assault or any sex-related activities are considered a heinous crime in New Jersey. The repercussions of these kinds of criminal acts can be very extreme.
Like you could be labeled as a sexual offender, and along with that, you could also be charged with a hefty penalty as well as imprisonment for a certain amount of time. Or else, if you are someone that has been a part of domestic violence, and you have custody of your child, then, in that case, you may lose the parenting right that has been given to you.
So if you have been arrested or accused of being involved in a sex crime, Lento Law Firm can assist you in understanding the laws related to Sex Crimes.
Some of the most common laws for sex crimes.
- Laws against Rape cases: Rape is considered one of the extreme crimes you can be involved in. Mainly there are no specific laws that are directly constructed to rape. Still, according to the Sexual Assualt law of New Jersey, it states that any kind of forcible and consensual sexual activity can lead you to be charged with a first or second-degree offense.
- Laws against Child molestations: Child molestation or child abuse is also considered a type of sexual assault. If sexual contact has been made between a child who is 13 years old or younger or if the offender is four years older than the victim, it is considered a sexual assault. The repercussion of this can involve you being arrested and facing jail time for a certain period.
- Laws against Sexual Assualt: You can be charged with an act of sexual assault if you indulge in sexual activity with the consent of the partner or if the victim is younger than 13 years old. Sexual assault is considered a second-degree indictable crime that means that you will have to face a jail time of up to 10 to 15 years, and you will be charged with a penalty of $150,000. On the contrary, when it comes to aggravated sexual assault is considered to be a first-degree offense. The accused will have to face jail time for 25 years and a fine penalty of up to $200,000.
No matter how severe your case is or becomes, your primary duty should consult an experienced attorney that will assist you in your case. Having an attorney will provide you an upper hand as you will be backed by someone aware of all the laws.